Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. Alliteration, I tell you.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies, I almost feel proud over that alliteration.

So, I made the biscotti post a few days back and wrote that I made more than that to bring to my dad.
Well, this was the second sort.

DSCN1407

More natural raffia string for wrapping (because I just happen to love wrapping things)!

So, anyway, here’s the recipe:

2 cups (300 g / 5 dl) plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup (250 g) softened butter
1 cup (200 g / 2,5 dl) granulated sugar
1 cup (200 g / 2,5 dl) firmly packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (they want essence, but I’m still using vanilla sugar)
1 cup (180 g / 2,5 dl) dark chocolate chips
½ cup (90 g / ca 1,8 dl) white chocolate chips
In the original recipe, they also include:

2½ cups (375 g / ca 4,3 dl) old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup (100 g / 2,5 dl) coarsely chopped, lightly toasted walnuts

Oven temperature: 350° F / 180° C

These are pretty easy to make (although mine became a bit more huge and flat that they should have been. I call it faulty instructions).

You’ll probably want two baking pans lined with baking sheets, because you’ll get about 24 cookies, and they won’t all fit on just one, I can tell you that.

They’re probably a tiny bit more healthy if you include the oats and walnuts but…. Well, it’s cookies. I don’t make cookies to be healthy and I’m not particularly fond of oats in my baking. Or walnuts for that matter, but you can probably substitute the walnuts for any other sort of nuts.
I’m 99.9% sure it wouldn’t make them explode, at least.

 

So start by mixing the dry ingredients such as flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl. No need for the bowl to be huge, the whole mix is going into another one later.

DSCN1334

If you have an electric mixer, great for you, use that to beat both kinds of sugar as well as the softened butter into a creamy mess (preferably in a large-ish bowl).
If you don’t have an electric mixer, I can actually kind of recommend cheating by melting the butter and then whisking in the sugars. Everything becomes so much easier, and I’m lazy like that.

 

Just remember to put the whole mix into the fridge (or freezer if you’re extra impatient) for a little while so it can harden up a little before shaping the dough into the balls that are supposed to become cookies later (I’m sure this is the totally unprofessional way to do it, but it works, so…). After mixing the whole dough together that is.

Not right now.

 

When you’ve whisked up the butter and sugars, add the eggs, one at a time and beat until they’re fully combined.
With either a mixer on low, or armed with a spoon, beat in the mixed dry ingredients and the vanilla (and oats of you decided to add that).

 

Also, seeing as I don’t have chocolate chips around here (that I can find anyway), I chop up my own chocolate kind of coarsely.

DSCN1338

I’m still using the 70% dark chocolate by the way.

DSCN1340

Then you add the chocolate (any potential walnuts or hazelnuts or whatever nuts you might want to add if you want any at all) by hand, mixing it well into the dough.
Now is the time to let the mix harden up a little in the fridge/freezer if you melted the butter, otherwise they will more or less just float out into large pancake shapes. And while they still taste great, maybe it wasn’t what you were aiming for visually (not that I cared much, it worked very well with my whole raffia string packaging).

 

So, then you shape the dough into little balls (and I mean little, because the recipe says golf ball size and I call bullshit. The first time they just floated into each other until I had to cut square cookies out of that pan. About half a golf ball seems to have worked for me anyway. Or maybe I’ve just forgotten the size of a golf ball).

 

Place them about 3 inches (7 cm) apart so they don’t flow into each other. Hopefully.

 

Bake each pan separately until lightly browned for about 10 minutes (or maybe 15, that could depend on your oven. Ours took 15). Let them cool for another 10 minutes in the baking pan and then transfer them onto a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Enjoy cookies!

DSCN1390

 

 

Also, for anyone who thinks the cleaning up afterwards is just as boring as I do, I got this tip from another lovely blogger, Foods for the Soul:
Tell yourself you cannot have any cookies before you’ve cleaned up and do it while the cookies are baking in the oven or cooling on the rack.

It works pretty well actually!

Enhanced by Zemanta
~ by eldestminion on January 29, 2013.

2 Responses to “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. Alliteration, I tell you.”

  1. […] Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. Alliteration, I tell you. (eldestminion.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies. Alliteration, I tell you. […]

Leave a Reply

 
