Hazelnut Not-Mocha Biscotti

I have this absolutely wonderful book that I bake from every now and then, it’s called The Golden Book of Chocolate. It’s awesome, I would really recommend it.

 

I was going to visit my dad, so I thought I might bake something from it to bring with me, so Hazelnut Mocha Biscotti (and some other things) it was!
Except… I totally forgot the coffee part, so it’s more like Hazelnut Not-Mocha Biscotti.

DSCN1403

So here’s the recipe:

¾ cup (125 g) hazelnuts
2 cups (300 g) plain flour
½ cup (75 g) unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking powder (bicarbonate of soda)
¼ teaspoon salt
3 large eggs
1 cup (200 g) granulated sugar
½ vanilla extract (I use vaniilla sugar)
2 teaspoons freeze-dried coffee granules
1/3 cup (60 g) dark chocolate chips
8 oz (250 g) white chocolate, coarsely chopped

Oven temperature: 325° F/ 170° C

Now, if you’re intelligent (like I’m sure you are, like I’m not) you don’t forget the coffee and actually get mocha biscotti, but it tastes just fine without it as well.

 

By that way, I found this lovely dark chocolate made for baking and it is awesome.

IMAG1240

It’s a bit more expensive than what I usually use, but normally what I use only have about 50% cocoa, and this is so much better like you would not even believe.

 

So, anyway, flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt mixed in a bowl while you mix eggs, sugar and vanilla in another, large bowl.

DSCN1352

This will become a really heavy and difficult dough to work with, but start mixing in the dry ingredients little by little. I did it by mixing in the dry ingredients and then kneading in the chocolate and nuts, but let me tell you, it’s really heavy and kinda sticky. It sticks to everything. Your hands, the table… Everything.

IMAG1241

When you’re done beating the dough into submission, divide it into two and roll it out into two “logs”, about ten inches each and flatten them slightly on a baking pan (covered with a baking sheet of course).

Pop it into the oven for about 25-30 minutes, until firm to the touch.
Take it out and let it cool for maybe ten minutes and then cut it diagonally into pieces, about ½ inch (1 cm). It will probably crumble a little, I guess it’s supposed to do that? I don’t know, this is the first time I’ve ever done this.

 

Lay them on the side on the baking pan again and into the oven they go again, this time for 10-15 minutes just to dry them out properly.

DSCN1361

Transfer over to a wire rack to let cool and then you’re done!

 

As I was giving these away, I wrapped them up, three at a time with natural raffia string.

DSCN1403

~ by eldestminion on January 26, 2013.

8 Responses to “Hazelnut Not-Mocha Biscotti”

  1. Yummy. You have to send me some of this…

  2. Trevlig blogg!
    Blev sugen på fler kakor!

    Kram :-)

  3. [...] Hazelnut Not-Mocha Biscotti [...]

  4. Gott Emma! Jag åt väl upp nästan alla tror jag…;)

  5. [...] I’m aware my baking sheets look a little… Chocolate-y, but I had just used them for the Hazelnut Not-Mocha Biscotti and was being economic by [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

